Korean Learning: The Basics

Dana
1 min readOct 11, 2022

--

Photo by Sava Bobov on Unsplash

South Korea has been well-known for their food, TV dramas, and pop music. With such an advent of Korean culture in my life I have found myself picking up easily phrases here and there.

I am always a believer of when you enjoy a culture, it becomes fun to learn the language. For me, I hadn’t started taking seriousness of learning Korean until a few months ago, when I decided it was time to look into the Korean language and truly try to learn the alphabet and understand a bit more about the grammar.

Similarly to the my general style of studying languages, I am doing it small chunks, starting off with learning the alphabet on Duolingo. Once I have a more solid grasp of the language I believe this will help with integrating with grammar knowledge.

I had only visited Korea briefly on a layover to Hong Kong, but I intend to go back and really understand more of the culture and people in my next visit. So, hopefully by then I could gain a stronger grasp of the language and be able to at least read simple signs to more easily get around.

--

--

Dana

a person with wanderlust and medium-size dreams, sharing her suffering and joy with the world through words