Russian Learning: The Basics

Dana
1 min readOct 11, 2022

--

Photo by Julia Kadel on Unsplash

Russian Cyrillic is the basis for many ex-Soviet Union nations, and one of the many reasons I am interested in learning further about this important and widely used language in Central Asia.

I’ve been slowly working toward proficiency in recognizing the Russian alphabet and understanding the pronunication and sound. For me it’s been a year long journey, where I’ve been doing chunks of 1–2 lessons on Duolingo to better comprehend the Russian alphabet.

The benefit of learning Russian Cyrillic is that now I am creating a basis for understanding the writing system of many of the former Soviet Nations, like Kazakstan, Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan.

My goal is that by end of 2023 I would be comfortable enough to read Russian Cyrillic but also have the ability to easily pick up the similar characters in the Qazak and Kyrygz language.

So far, I have not dived much into the Russian grammar, but that is an area I believe would be helpful in tying the structure of the language and vocabulary together, to build a stronger basic foundation.

--

--

Dana

a person with wanderlust and medium-size dreams, sharing her suffering and joy with the world through words