Turkish Learning: The Basics

Dana
2 min readAug 2, 2022

--

Photo by Ridwan Meah on Unsplash

Turkey has always had a place in my heart. Although I have no more ties to Turkey, there are still many aspects of the culture and language I still enjoy.

Learning Turkish has been like many other languages, rather slow, however I still from time to time watch Turkish dramas and listen to Turkish music. It’s still a language I would not say I have fully stopped trying to acquire, but one that I have noticed like other things I haven’t put my full attention.

But there are basic things about the Turkish language that I learned during the past several years:

  1. Turkish is a genderless language — gender does not affect the verb conjugation or nouns such as those in Hindi.
  2. Turkish has suffixes that adds onto the meaning of the language.
  3. Turkish is a S-O-V language just like Hindi and Japanese.
  4. Turkish is more phonetic than English, which makes it easier to read it and speak it.
  5. Turkish alphabet is latin-based, so as an English speaker it’s easier to pick up since there’s less of a learning curve.

My goal has been to try to really understand how to form sentences and improve my vocabulary in the languages I’m studying, and I have not been fully faithful to doing that in Turkish. But, as I work on documenting my journey to being a polyglot, I hope that my efforts changes, and there is more time spent truly deliberately practicing. Bakalım nasıl olacak~!

--

--

Dana

a person with wanderlust and medium-size dreams, sharing her suffering and joy with the world through words